Dredd 3D

Dredd
Hello Everyone! I saw Dredd 3D a couple weekends ago at the Toronto International Film Festival, but haven’t gotten a chance to write my review about it until now! Sorry!

So, I don’t know much about the character Judge Dredd, and I never saw the original movie, but I LOVED this one! There was so much action, and it was put together so well. The character Judge Dredd is completely bad-ass and bad to the bone. The music was put together very nicely, the filming was done amazingly, and really, I just loved this movie. I’m definitely going to see it in theatres again now that’s it’s officially out.

So, what is this Dredd movie about? Well, Dredd is given a rookie to take on a final test. She’s failed before, but is being given one more shot because she is a psychic and someone higher up than Dredd believes she could be a valuable asset. Of course, Dredd doesn’t feel the same way, he’s all about rules, and feels that if someone fails, they fail, that’s it – but he takes her on. He lets her choose where they go that day, and they end up in an area called Peach Tree’s. Peach Tree’s used to be split up between gang types, until Ma-Ma came in and took over the entire building.

Dredd and the rookie are reporting to 3 homicides – but when they get there, it becomes so much more. As they’re going down the elevator to take someone in for questioning, Ma-Ma has her people get complete control of Peach Tree’s and sets the building into War Mode (or at least I think that’s what it was called). Ma-Ma sets her entire clan/gang out to kill the two Judge’s, all because she knows the person they are bringing in will talk. So the movie at that point becomes about Dredd and the rookie staying alive and stopping Ma-Ma while uncovering the truth of how and why the 3 people were murdered.

I really do feel the movie was put together very well. I really had no idea what I was going to see when I saw it at TIFF, I just knew the trailer looked awesome. I can’t say if you’re a Dredd fan definitely see the movie, because I don’t know what kind of expectations you’d have. However, if you’re like me and had no idea what Dredd was and want to see a really awesome movie, I’d definitely recommend seeing Dredd!

Here’s the trailer for anyone who hasn’t seen it yet:

Thanks for stopping by and reading my movie review! If you have any comments, suggestions, concerns, or just wanna say hi, feel free to leave a comment!

This entry was posted in Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment